THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE LEGEND


This post was inspired by a topic I recently saw on a forum I frequent, where one poster hailed Max Martin as the godfather of modern pop. I can’t say I disagree. No producer has been able to both set and adapt to the trends and changes in pop music quite like Max Martin. He is responsible for iconic first singles (“…Baby One More Time”), career-reviving comeback tracks (“It’s My Life”), and songs that become instant classics (“Since U Been Gone”). Before I say anymore, take a look at these songs and try not to bust out the chorus to all, if not most, of them.

Backstreet Boys – “Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)”, “I Want It That Way”
*NSYNC – “Tearin’ Up My Heart”
Britney Spears – “…Baby One More Time”, “Oops!… I Did It Again”, “3”
Bon Jovi – “It’s My Life”
Kelly Clarkson – “Since U Been Gone”, “Behind These Hazel Eyes”, “My Life Would Suck Without You”
P!nk – “U + Ur Hand”, “Who Knew”, “So What”
Katy Perry – “I Kissed a Girl”, “Hot N Cold”

In addition to those tracks (which are only a select few from his huge catalog of hits), just this summer he had both Katy Perry’s “California Gurls” and “Teenage Dream”, Taio Cruz’s “Dynamite”, and Usher’s “DJ Got Us Fallin’ In Love” dominating the airwaves. Max Martin successfully rode the wave of bubblegum teen pop, to infectious pop/rock, and is now responsible for some of the biggest electro-pop hits. Regardless of how the pop music is influenced, Max Martin is the quintessential pop producer and songwriter, creating the catchiest songs tailor-made for radio. Here’s to another decade of Martin produced hits!

Leave a comment

Filed under Successes

Leave a Reply

