TRACKLIST REMODELING

Putting together track lists and picking out singles should be a pretty easy task. However, record labels often screw this up and it can really derail an entire album era. While “Circus” was undoubtedly a successful comeback for Britney, a few things could have been tweaked to make it even better. Based on all the songs I’ve heard from “Circus”, here is how I would have complied the track list…

1. Circus (The first change is minor, but opening the album with “Circus” is a no-brainer. “Womanizer” and “Circus” should have been switched.)
2. Womanizer
3. If U Seek Amy
4. Kill the Lights (On the actual album, “Kill the Lights” follows “Out from Under”. This would have been fine, except “Kill the Lights” opens with, “Ladies and gentlemen, we interrupt our program of dance music…” Seriously, did they not even listen to the track list in order?)
5. Unusual You
6. Amnesia (Both “Amnesia” and “Quicksand” deserved to be on the album. I’m surprised they cut both GaGa-penned tracks, especially since they were much better than some of the songs included. I honestly think they both could have made great 4th and 5th singles, too.)
7. Quicksand
8. Shattered Glass
9. Mannequin
10. Trouble
11. Phonography (While “Phonography” was included in the deluxe edition, it should have been on the album, along with “Trouble”. Neither of these songs would cut it as singles, but they certainly make better album tracks than “Blur”, “Mmm Papi”, or “Lace and Leather”.)
12. Out From Under (I would have closed the album with “Out From Under” instead of “My Baby”. I know “My Baby” is probably a very personal song for Britney, but it is pretty terrible. I just about die every time I hear, “I smell your breath/It makes me cry”. At least I get a good laugh at the end!)
13. Anything, but “Radar” again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Mistakes

Leave a Reply

